… Uppsala. Sweden, Day 52

I woke up into bit darker and windy Uppsala and started my laundry project at 7am. Fortunately during the time my laundry was being done, the weather improved a lot. After noon sunny Uppsala welcomed me to go roller blading on my last Sunday in Sweden.

I did kind of a circuit in southern part of the city and made it through districts of Ulleråker, Sunnersta and Gottsunda. For most of the time, the trail was of a very good quality and quite soon I was skating along fields with some cereals. It was a bit harder ride, since the wind remained pretty strong and it was a hilly way. I was really surprised to find myself on a way to Lidl, although I started my trip in another direction, only after 40 minutes of skating.

Once I located myself, I continued along a main to downtown Uppsala, where I had a short break and little snack near , the place where ducks and other birds are used to be fed by people.

Skating Break at Svandammen

It was busy there with kids both feeding and chasing the birds, especially pigeons. I planned to return to the dorms the same way (about 75 minutes long), however I find it difficult to start moving again after I had been resting for some time. So, I made it directly (25 minutes) to the dorms.

Since the weather was too nice to be inside the building and I thought it would be nice to have a fika with my colleagues tomorrow, I made a trip to Willy:s in the afternoon, too. I bought some muffins and cookies to share with others on my last working day.

When I returned from the grocery store, I realized I could no longer postpone a bit annoying duty of the day: bathroom cleaning. Few weeks were enough to find out how others clean rooms and other places they are supposed to clean, so I did it their way this time. It is not worth spending too much time cleaning, because the result does not last longer than two days. After all, I am staying for only a bit longer, so I did not need to clean the place because of me either.

My Italian-Swedish supper made a nice ending of the day. I finished Swedish meatballs, this time with spaghetti and little bit of Bolognese sauce.

Italian-Swedish Supper

It was a very nice dish, which was followed with a Swedish dessert: Prinsesstårta, Princess Cake.

Princess Cake

The layers of airy sponge cake, spread with raspberry jam, altered with pastry cream and a thick domed layer of whipped cream. This was topped by the green marzipan, giving the cake a smooth rounded top. The top was also decorated with chocolate and sprinkled with powdered sugar.

The original recipe first appeared in the 1930’s “Prinsessornas Kokbok”, a cookbook, which was published by Jenny Åkerström, a teacher of the daughters of Prince Carl, Duke of Västergötland.

The very last task of the day was to wash my roller blades a bit and although I did not start packing, at least I sorted my stuff somehow and got mentally prepared for the packing tomorrow morning, when I am back from the work.

I planned to go to bed as early as possible, but unfortunately at this point I was not very successful. Christop returned from his biking trip to Germany and his little vacation there. I spotted him having his first supper in Sweden on my way to the bathroom, so I had to stop by and say Hello to him. Since we have not seen each other for almost three weeks, quite some chatting took place and that postponed my bed time.

Leave a Reply

